Main image
1st July
written by ReedenWright
Those plugged in to the live blog of the 2010 Christy Awards got virtual tiramisu and the news as it happened Saturday (June 26) at ICRS, when awards recognizing the best in Christian fiction in 2009 were presented to nine authors. Novelist Lisa Samson keynoted the event, established in 1999 to recognize quality fiction written and published from a Christian worldview. Samson was herself honored for best contemporary stand-alone novel for The Passion of Mary-Margaret (Thomas Nelson).
Newbie small publisher Marcher Lord Press took top honors in the visionary category, its specialty, for By Darkness Hid by Jill Williamson.
Other winners, from large publishers, were:
Contemporary romance: Breach of Trust by DiAnn Mills (Tyndale House)
Contemporary series: Who Do I Talk To? by Neta Jackson (Thomas Nelson)
First novel: Fireflies in December by Jennifer Erin Valent (Tyndale House)
Historical: Though Waters Roar by Lynn Austin (Bethany House)
Historical romance: The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen (Bethany House)
Suspense: Lost Mission by Athol Dickson (Howard)
Young adult: North! or Be Eaten by Andrew Peterson (WaterBrook)

In other news in this robust category, Salem Publishing will launch FamilyFiction, a Web site/newsletter/digital magazine at, focused on Christian fiction, this fall. It joins, a database and educational program launched earlier this year by American Christian Fiction Writers to help readers, librarians, and booksellers navigate the growing variety of genres and novelists. ACFW, with more than 2,100 members, announced at ICRS it has renamed its Book of the Year Award the Carol Award to honor pioneering editor Carol Johnson, a longtime champion of Christian fiction, who acquired author Janette Oke in 1979 for what is now Bethany House Publishers.

Be Sociable, Share!
Comments are closed.