Posts Tagged ‘National Book Award’

3rd August
written by ReedenWright

Blue Mesa Review(BMR) is a literary magazine published annually by the creative writing department at the University of New Mexico. They accept submissions of fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction.

The 2013 Fiction contest will be judged by Sherman Alexie, a poet, writer and film maker who has won an American Book Award, a National Book Award and the 2010 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

The 2013 Poetry contest will be judged by Michael Dickman, an American poet who won the 2010 James Laughlin Award.

Please read the submission instructions and get your entries in by August 31, 2013.

Read and write fiction and poetry globally but buy from your local indie SIBA-member bookstore and keep more revenue in your community.  


Comments Off on Blue Mesa Review Fiction and Poetry Contest
27th May
written by ReedenWright

Journalist and author Katherine Boo has won the 2013 Helen Bernstein Book Award for Behind the Beautiful Forevers. The $15,000 award goes to “journalists whose books have brought clarity and public attention to important issues, events, or policies.”

Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity

Behind the Beautiful Forevers tells the story of several people who populate a Mumbai slum.

Annawadi is a makeshift settlement in the shadow of luxury hotels near the Mumbai airport, and as India starts to prosper, Annawadians are electric with hope. Abdul, a reflective and enterprising Muslim teenager, sees “a fortune beyond counting” in the recyclable garbage that richer people throw away. Asha, a woman of formidable wit and deep scars from a childhood in rural poverty, has identified an alternate route to the middle class: political corruption. With a little luck, her sensitive, beautiful daughter—Annawadi’s “most-everything girl”—will soon become its first female college graduate. And even the poorest Annawadians, like Kalu, a fifteen-year-old scrap-metal thief, believe themselves inching closer to the good lives and good times they call “the full enjoy.”

But then Abdul the garbage sorter is falsely accused in a shocking tragedy; terror and a global recession rock the city; and suppressed tensions over religion, caste, sex, power and economic envy turn brutal. As the tenderest individual hopes intersect with the greatest global truths, the true contours of a competitive age are revealed. And so, too, are the imaginations and courage of the people of Annawadi.

Boo has won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service, a 2002 MacArthur Fellowship, the 2002 Hillman Prize, the 2012 National Book Award (for Behind the Beautiful Forevers), and the 2012 Columbia Journalism Award.

Read globally but buy from your local indie SIBA-member bookstore and keep more revenue in your community.

Comments Off on Katherine Boo Wins the 2013 Helen Bernstein Book Award
1st February
written by ReedenWright

The finalists for this year’s Story Prize areThe Angel Esmeralda by Don DeLillo (Scribner), We Others by Steven Millhauser (Knopf), and Binocular Vision by Edith Pearlman (Lookout Books). The Story Prize, which annually honors the top book of short fiction, chose the three finalists from a field of 92 books from 60 different publishers. The judges for this year’s prize are Sherman Alexie, Breon Mitchell, and Louise Steinman.

The Angel Esmeralda is DeLillo’s first short story collection, the nine stories published between 1979 and 2010. Millhauser’s 21 stories are comprised of 14 previously published stories, and seven new stories. And Pearlman’s Binocular Vision, a National Book Award finalist, has stories dating back to 1976.

The Story Prize was established in 2004. Previous winners include The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat, Like You’d Understand, Anyway by Jim Shepard, Our Story Begins by Tobias Wolff, and, most recently, Memory Wall by Anthony Doerr. The winner will be announced on March 21 at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York City.

Thank you to Publisher’s Weekly for the article.

Read globally but buy from your local indie SIBA-member bookstore and keep more revenue in your community.

Comments Off on 2011 Story Prize Finalists
19th April
written by ReedenWright

Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives (W.W. Norton & Co.) by Brad Watson is an Indie Bound-Okra Pick for Winter Spring 2010.  This is his first collection of stories since his celebrated, award-winning Last Days of the Dog-Men.

Family members who act like strangers, and characters who eat dirt, undergo strange transformations, and find themselves drawn mysteriously to bodies of water form the heart of Watson’s accomplished collection, but the latest from this author is much more than the sum of its strange moments. In Vacuum, three boys who are afraid their mother will leave them begin playing with razor blades and jumping off the carport roof. In Carl’s Outside, neglectful parents belatedly realize their son has disappeared. In one of the most eerie pieces, Water Dog Good, a man takes in his ethereal 16-year-old niece, who has been sexually assaulted by her father and brothers. In the title story, a teenager and his pregnant girlfriend’s lives unspool after an encounter with a mysterious couple who may or may not be aliens.

Watson writes in a lucid, unaffected style, drawing the reader into the lives of his troubled characters.  He teaches creative writing at the University of Wyoming, Laramie.  He is also the author of The Heaven of Mercury, which was a finalist for the National Book Award.

Read globally, but buy from your local independent bookstore and keep more revenue in your community.

Comments Off on Indie Bound-Okra Picks Winter/Spring 2010